Electric Love.

While I was bouncing around a few nights ago to a terrible DJ set, the mix of alcohol and excitement for Does It Offend must have set something off internally, and as it did, whatever it was pulled me out of the building and into an old memory.

I remember we were sitting in our pool house. I had a beer in my hand and three or four empty cans at my feet. Two of my best friends were laughing beside me and I had been sitting for maybe a couple of hours listening to mixed cds. I remember standing up just as a song started to skip, when suddenly my face went numb and my body seemed to brace itself for impact.

Confused, I stumbled to catch myself, but it was too late. I had fallen into some boxes filled with what felt like hard old appliances, and I could feel the pain slowly roll down my face. I laid there for what seemed like hours, but the tone of the shouting, I could guess that it had only been a minute or so.

The next thing I know, they were picking me up, and my ears, for whatever reason, tuned into the sound of the song still skipping. One of them let go, I heard a pause and then Basement Jaxx’s Where’s Your Head At came bursting through the speakers.

In my confusion, I had no idea what I was hearing, but I shook myself free and started dancing. My friends, probably looking at each other with confusion, followed suit. I know this because I could hear the change in their pockets shifting and their feet hitting the ground. Had we not been teenagers, somebody would have driven me to the hospital.

Later on, my eyesight returned, my head stopped pounding and I never forgot what happened that night. That was the night I fell in love with electronic music. Then, I heard screaming and I was back in the building. Does It Offend was just walking on stage, and I was jumping harder than I had in years. This was the night I fell in love with electronic music again.

Below are some of my favorites. Be sure and check out the Nite Cells, Malente and Oohee Loot remixes first. They are ridiculous.

A. Does It Offend You, Yeah? – We Are Rockstars (Alt: YSI)
B. Foals – Electric Ballroom (Malente Remix) (Alt: YSI)
C. Riot In Belgium – La Musique (Oohee Loot Remix) (Alt: YSI)
D. Chromeo – Bonafied Lovin’ (Riot In Belgium Mix) (Alt: YSI)
E. Afghan Raiders – Future Thinkers (Nite Cells Remix) (Alt: YSI)

As a bonus, here is the actual BRAND NEW ‘Ye Love Lockdown track. Firsts!

F. Kayne West – Love Lockdown (Alt: YSI) (Official)

3 Responses

  1. i’m guessing you meant my blog appeared for a bit on the hype machines list for a bit? it was largely due to me posting the new ben folds single. and i think their list is comprised, now, of how many times a blog was visited/listened to on their website. before it was aggregated based on how many times a blog was visited from hype, now it’s different. you score points based on how man hype users play songs you posted… it’s a bit different {especially as now the hype crowd are mostly looking for leaked albums or remixes. sigh}

  2. 1. sorry for the massive list of typos in that comment.
    2. thanks for the kanye track.
    3. how have i not put you in my links yet?

  3. thanks for the note – and consider you me and everyone added to my links. i thought you’d been there for ages, but i guess i was mistaken.

Leave a comment