Grab-Bag Thursday.

Grab-bag Thursday is always my favorite day, and a few of these songs have me grinning from ear to ear, especially the cover of one of my favorite songs All My Friends. I’m even more excited that I get to share them with you. Enjoy!

A. The Main Drag – All My Friends (LCD Soundsystem Cover) (Alt: YSI)

There are few songs that hit me like a load of bricks, and even fewer songs that can stop me completely. I could be at work, making breakfast or breathing, and if you played this song, I’d stop and close my eyes. I’d let it take me away.

B. White Hinterland – Dreaming Of The Plum Trees (Alt: YSI)

I’ve been listening to White Hinterland’s beautifully cloudy debut album, Phylactery Factory, for a few weeks now and it’s just starting to show me its secrets. Secrets that wisk you away to an afternoon jazz party that would make Ellington proud. Check it out.

C. Faded Paper Figures – B Film (Alt: YSI)

In this film, you’re in a library and as you reach for a book, it backs away from your hand until evetually it falls off the other side. As it does, it makes a crashing noise as it hits someone, someone you didn’t know was there. You, of course, peer through the new hole out of curiousity. And then you see her.

D. Palmyra – Regrets (Alt: YSI)

You know how some people, especially older people, beat the dust out of things? Kind of like how my grandfather would always knock his dirty boots against the side of his truck before getting in. Now, insert Gina from Palmyra. Much like my grandfather, she is throwing her voice back and forth to shake the dust off this song. It’s a beautiful thing.

E. Au – Animals (Alt: YSI)

This song is about the in-between, a thick, hazy feeling, much like the blinking of sleepy eyes. When you start to fade, you hear tribal drums and see animals and people dancing around. You see reds and blues and yellows, and you see the flickering of faces and shapes move over you, covering you with their hands and hooves. Then you blink and you’re at your desk, eyes still heavy with sleep. That’s this song.

One Response

  1. I’m loving these songs, Brandon! You were right; I do like White Hinterland. 🙂 Thanks for sharing!

Leave a comment