One Year!

ballons

Today isn’t just a Monday. It’s the one-year anniversary of You, Me & Everyone, and honestly, I’m suprised I’ve lasted this long be-cause my attention span is shorter than Demi Moore’s hair in G.I. Jane.

Seriously though, even though we’ve broken dozens of tracks, made the Hype #1 list and New York Magazine a few times and almost got shut down twice, none of this would be possible without ya’ll. I couldn’t have done it without you guys, and I’m definitely ap-preciative of everyone who sticks around to read what’s written.
This post is for you.

Also, a quick shout-out to Lauren at Vanguard Records / Sugar Hill Records for the tickets to see Greg Laswell tear it up at 3rd and Lindsley on Thursday, and for the incredible job she does at keeping us in the music blogs up on new bands. Much love, Lauren.

So, this weekend, we’re talking, and she says “oh, yeah, I mean, I like music” and then switches the conversation to getting ice-cream, making me think she’s probably into chick-rock, strawberry milkshakes and Avril Lavigne.

A. Kid Cudi – Day And Night (Minus Remix) (Alt: YSI)

“Oh. Good.,” I’m thinking, you know? I mean, I’m fumbling around with the idea of suggesting that I have situational fibro-myalgia and that I only feel pain around 90’s pop music. Then I see her car, a early-2000’s Honda Civic, and I remember that the only girl I know who drives one of these is into scrapbooking, feminisim and the f***ing Indigo Girls. I know, right? So, I throw my hands up and say “Avril Lavigne. You win.”

B. Ace of Base – All That She Wants (The Disco Villains Remix) (Alt: YSI)

So now, she’s smiling at me and I see her hand hit the “lock” button, and I’m thinking “Oh. My. God.” I mean, what if I’m trapped in this car with “Complicated” on loop? What if she knows and that’s why she locked the door? I’m done. So there I am, clawing at the unmarked buttons, looking for an exit strategy and I hear the ignition fire. I stop, my stomach flips over, my hand hits the handle and out comes Akon mixed with the Crookers. I kid you not, I almost had a f-ing panic attack.

C. Akon vs Crookers – Wake It Up Y’all (Dub-D Mashed Up) (Alt: YSI)

5 Responses

  1. Great post and Congrats on the Anniversary! Been listening for awhile a definitely a favorites.

  2. thanks for giving me a shout on you site man, i really enjoyed your writing as well.

  3. […] fast and get a remix of his massive track here or watch the official music video below featuring the original […]

  4. Disco Villains Interview @ http://apewithbarrels.blogspot.com/2009/04/disco-villains-part-2-and-interview.html

    figured you might be interested

  5. Crookers @ iTunes: http://bit.ly/qaPSN

Leave a Reply

