Catching Up.

picture-3

You, Me & Everyone is back from a much needed multi-week sabbatical and I can safely say it’s oh-so-good to be back writing, catching up with labels and listening to real music again. Also, I’m getting a new laptop [yeah!] so it’ll make blogging and sharing music with ya’ll that much easier.

Anyway, enough about me, let’s get to what you came for.

I love the song below, if only for the melody rattling around like a last multivitamin, and a beat that jerks forward like the constant opening and closing of intake and exhaust valves primed for take off. In fact, with that image of an engine in my mind, TBG’s words of warning [your ass is your boarding pass!] & [destination? Mars!] don’t sound as strange when you consider your chair might actually take off. 

A. Tokin’ Black Guy – Turn My Music High (Alt: YSI)

I feel like until 1:17, this song is pretty much basic singer/songwriter fare, but at 1:17 it changes. It becomes less about Merrill Garbus and her chilling voice, and more about Merrill walking in on her 5 foot 6 ukulele drunkenly fucking a 5 foot 2 blonde drum-kit [and also the 360-pound hawaiian above]. It’s a beautiful thing, this song.

B. tUnE-YaRdS – FIYA (Alt: YSI)

This song is straightforward, simple, and beautifully unafraid, but the real reason I decided to include it was because of the smile I get when I play it for anyone over the age of 30. You’ll understand soon enough when you hear the chorus, and when you do, picture my parents faces twisting in pain.  Trust me, it’ll be worth it.

C. Frightened Rabbit – Keep Yourself Warm (Alt: YSI)

There are no comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

