Explosions.

picture-13

It’s probably still night on your side of the world, and as the sun rises, I’d love for you to hear what I’ve posted below. Hope you enjoy!

If I thought about the kind of situation you’d need to be in to write this song, I’d think about hot air balloons and explosives. Whether Nik Freitas was actually playing with explosives while riding in a balloon when he wrote this song is up for debate, but what can’t be denied is how he keeps his cool despite 60’s and 70’s pop music flying fucking everywhere. 

A. Nik Freitas – All The Way Down (Alt: YSI)

When I hear this, I remember being young and angry. I remember having the greatest impenetrable tunnel vision. I remember kicking over mailboxes and getting into fist fights and generally fucking things up. I was angry. Angry that there weren’t more songs like this around when I was young and angry.

B. Mother Mother – O My Heart (Alt: YSI)

I want to talk to Justin Vernon. Not because I like his music, or because he’s good at talking. I want to talk to him because he seems like he is around my age, and knows more about things than I sometimes feel I ever will. I want to know his secret, even if it’s not really a secret at all.

C. Bon Iver – Hazelton (Alt: YSI)

This song definitely brings me back. I was a preppy kid, a beige khakis and polo shirt kind of kid with a dad in the Music Business. Every Friday, I’d walk out of my private school, untuck my shirt and spend the rest of the day hanging out with southern gangster rappers, watching them tear up the mic. Afterwards, my dad would drop me off, and I’d spend an hour listening to my mom freak out when she found out where I was. Later that night, I’d hear my dad come home and they’d fight it out, thinking I was asleep. Except I wasn’t. I was doing it for hip-hop and my little hands were clutching a brand-new mixtape.

D. Ludacris Ft. Nas & Jay-Z – I Do It For Hip-Hop (Alt: YSI)

6 Responses

  1. A pleasing candidness to this post – especially the part about Bon Iver’s Justin Vernon.

    Bon courage, young soul.

  2. the amazon page I have says dec. 9th, for a cross the universe

    where can i get the nov. 24th copy?

  3. Where is that Bon Iver track from???

  4. It’s from his album Hazeltons. It’s very hard to find, but your best bet is Ebay or Craigslist. Good luck!

  5. Not gonna lie… STILL lovin’ Wayne. Thanks for this.

  6. What you said about the Ludacris song made me smile.

Leave a Reply

