Secret Level.

jada

I woke up this morning in a heck of a mood, and then I discovered that my high-speed internet connection actually worked. While this might seem trivial, it gave me the chance to catch up on some things I had sorely missed, namely, music. Let’s skip the post and get into what you came for.

I’m convinced Jadakiss is hiding something. Not something physical, but a secret level in his lyrics or something crazy like that. Like if you listened to the song until the halfway point, rewinded it and said an incantation, you’d hear a ringing and that famous Jadakiss laugh, and then it’d be all coins and vines and liquor stores. See if you can find it below.

Last night, Anders from Adrian Lux’s record label sent me a reminder. A reminder that songs used to be simpler, and things like milk used to cost less. He reminded me that a coke used to be a quarter and candy a dime, and when you made a map, you put some imagination into it, because you had to draw the thing out by hand. That’s kind of what this song is, a simple, drawn out remix with a handful of imagination and a whole lot of beautiful. Enjoy below.

A. Adrian Lux – Strawberry (Kocky & Trash remix) (Alt: YSI)

This sentence took forty minutes to write, and the song below probably an hour to record. Sometimes it takes forever to do something, and by the time you’ve done it, you’ve forgotten completely what you were trying to do in the first place, but I don’t think this is the case with Lil
Wayne. I think he just grabs a mike wherever he is and gets it over with. 

B. Lil Wayne Ft. Gudda Gudda – Get Bizzy (Alt: YSI)

The song below is off the new Kitsune Maison record. It kind of makes me picture 16-year-old girls in neon sunglasses and dark overcoats much too large for their frames laughing and dancing around in a way that only girls can to a song like this. Whether this is really the case or not, I hope they’re really as hip as they think they are.

C. Ted & Francis – I Wish I Was A Polar Bear (Arctic Urgency Edit) (Alt: YSI)

Also, wanted to get this on the Hype Machine:

D. You, Me & Everyone – YME Easy DJ Mix (Alt: YSI)

One Response

  1. That polar bear song, they played it at the LCF Fashion Show… what the heck!? It gets on my nerves…

Leave a Reply

