A Psychic Band.

Sometimes when digging for gold, you forget what it was you were looking for in the first place. You dig and dig, and the dirt just keeps piling up over your head, but occasionally your shovel hits something hard and the little music fan inside you starts screaming. If you heard what I heard when I clicked on Blue Ocean Blue the first time, you’d really start screaming. 

The more I think about it, the more I bet your insides would sound like a loud “Yeaaaa-ahhh!” or something. Kind of a shortened exclaimation for: I can’t believe how fucking good this is. Lake understands this. They get it, which is why they shuffle through songs that sound wholesome and sizeable, like mini-musical mountains with tamborine rivers and keyboard skies. I heard they even get off on it, and to make things worse, they titled their new album Oh, The Places We’ll Go. It’s as if Lake knew I was going to write this and planned accordingly. Fucking Ms. Cleo sonsofbitches. Listen below.

(Side note: These are from their fantastic Daytrotter session. Sorry for the confusion!)

A. Lake – Blue Ocean Blue (Alt: YSI)
B. Lake – Counting (Alt: YSI)
C. Lake – Saint (Alt: YSI)

Also attached is the new remix of West’s Love Lockdown. It’s different – better in some ways and worse in others. Either way, I think I like it and I hope you do too.

D. Kayne West Ft. AC – Love Lockdown (Official Remix) (Alt: YSI)

2 Responses

  1. This is fantastic. I love discovering music like this.

  2. i just wanted to give some verbal love to your blog. i discovered it about 2 weeks ago through an okayplayer link and i’ve been visiting every day. my itunes library is smiling.

Leave a Reply

