Playing Catch-up.


A few months ago, I found out I had secured an internship with the American Consulate in Milan. I start in less than a month and as that is approaching, I’ve spent the past few days trying to find housing. Definitely not an easy task, and given that I would probably sleep in a box for a month to see the Crookers play, I’m probably not in the best state of mind to look for places to live.

Easing back into music for a moment, I can’t stop listening to La Castle Vania’s remix of Walter Meego’s “Through A Keyhole.” I mean, literally, the song has taken over my speakers.

Walter Meego – “Through A Keyhole” (Le Castle Vania Remix)

This weekend, I went to Memphis to see Dave Matthews with my best friends, and while there, I started to get nostalgic for college. If I wrote down all the ridiculous things we did and said over four years, I’m pretty sure I’d be arrested as soon as I hit publish, but then again, anytime you put 75 guys in the same house, you’re guaranteed to have some moments where you’re just like “did that really just happen?” Luckily for me, Asher Roth decided to hit publish for me.

Asher Roth – I Love College

Today, as I flipped through blogs, one thing that stood out was, of all things, a new Souljah Boy song. While I hate giving him two mentions in a week, I can’t help it. Whether it be the grimey beat, the lyrics that make my legs want to two-step, or the overwhelming feeling that I really, really wish I could rap, I dig this song. Now, if somebody could remix this into a dirty electro jam, that would be AWESOME.

Souljah Boy – Steelo

On another note, I can’t listen to this cover of Feist’s 1234 without cracking a smile. I have no idea where this came from, or whose kids decided to belt out what might be my favorite rendition of a song ever done by children. Either way, please listen, and I dare you not to crack a smile. Also, if you know who put this together, please leave a comment because I would love to buy whatever cd this came from.

Children’s Fantastic Moment – 1234 (Feist Cover)

Props go to Hot Biscuits, who introduced me to this ridiculous Lollipop remix. Thanks guys for the heads up, and for the great blog.

Lil Wayne – Lollipop (Disco Villians Remix) 

And as I discovered last week as I flipped through my ipod looking for songs to fill the void my grandfather’s passing left, Sam Cooke is the fucking man.

Sam Cooke – That’s Where It’s At

**Also, if you haven’t heard DIM’s remix of the Presets “My People,” drop what you are doing, turn up those speakers and start jumping around, ’cause this song is about to take over your feet.

The Presets – My People (DIM Remix)

2 Responses

  1. Just wanted to say congrats…. on your internship. I wish you the best of luck. I’ve been traveling a bit too…but wanted you to know I heard this ol’ country song….Garth Brooks’ Unanswered Prayers. Give it a listen…I know it’s probably been awhile since you were listening to country and eating slugburgers, but figured u’d appreciate it. Take care and don’t let them overwork you.
    An old friend

  2. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

