Here’s to you.

Tonight, my Grandfather passed away, and things here are pretty heavy. Most of the time, when we’d talk on the phone, it’d be a hello, and maybe he’d ask about school and tell me to stay away from girls as they’d bring trouble, followed by a goodbye and a “I love you son.” That was until a few weeks ago, as I struggled to understand his words over a muffled receiver. His voice grew strong and clear, and then he said something I’ll never forget.

“Son, you’re a titan.”

For a week or so, I thought maybe I’d misheard him, as our conversations have always been pretty much the same thing repeated like a prayer, but yesterday, as I called my Grandmother for an update, she confirmed that he meant what he said.

Grandfather, here’s to you. You changed all of us for the better, and you’re the strongest person I’ve ever known. Much love.

One Response

  1. I’m a bit belated, but just wanted to let you know that I’m sorry to hear about both your grandfather and your pup. I know that stuff is tough.

Leave a Reply

