Lunch Break[ing and Entering.]


Just an FYI, but if you’re ever in the Tennessee Tower in Nashville, take the stairs.

I found myself wandering up them today, past the floors I knew were safely marked, past the familiar signs and overhead lights until I was no longer in a stairwell, but in a small, dark hallway, surrounded on all sides by large blue doors. “There is no way this is real,” I thought, turning my head in circles until my eyes settled one marked “Do NOT enter.” I tried it, tapping the dull metal handle a few times just in case of an alarm or an attack dog. You see, in Government, you learn that waiting is just part of the job, and I figured governmental guards weren’t any different. I knew they were probably sitting there, hands fidgeting, waiting, wishing someone was dumb enough to pull that handle, and I was. I pushed it once for effort, twice, harder until it flew open, exposing a narrow, unsafe looking ladder with wooden blocks nailed in between for support. “Should I climb?” I asked myself, staring up, trying to imagine what I’d find at the top. “Grab the bar,” I heard myself say. “Do it. You need to know,” and I did need to know, so I stepped up,  feeling the cold metal creak underneath the weight of my hands and feet. “Great,” I thought, “Two weeks on the job and already I might die.” I didn’t die though, I just stood on top of 31 floors and looked out over the entire city. Not bad for a lunch break adventure.

These ten songs aren’t bad either.

1. The Softlightes – “Heart Made of Sound (SQZMYLMNS remix)”

2. Jupiter One – “Countdown” (Designer Drugs remix)

3. Hail Social – “All Night” (Crimp Yr Hair & Mike Robinson remix)

4. Young Coyotes – “Momentary Drowning” 
(Courtesy of Said the Gramophone)

5. Women – “Black Rice”

6. Kleerup ft. Lykke Li – “Until We Bleed (ft. Lykke Li)”

7. ClarkAble – Lemonhead (Crookers Remix)

8. Weezer – Automatic (LA Riots Remix)
(Original here)

9. Arctic Monkeys w/ Dizzee Rascal-Temptation Greets You Like a Naughty Friend
(Courtesy of If It’s Good)

10. Matt Sheehy – About Piano

Hope you enjoy!

** Fixed the links for the first three songs.

There are no comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

